The parish of Taynton in West Gloucestershire lies 3 miles south of Newent and 7 miles from Gloucester with the prominent feature of May Hill (963’) lying due west. The parish is in the Forest of Dean District Council.
The centre of Taynton Village is The Green with Hownhall (housing Taynton Farm Shop) and The Old Forge. The village sign here was erected for the Millennium and features the native wild daffodil, many of which now bloom underneath it. The original church was destroyed during the Civil War and earthworks are still just visible at Taynton Parva. It was replaced by the present church of St Lawrence on Tibberton Road and endowed by Thomas Pury of The Grove after 1647.
Fascinating details of the local history can be found in “Our Story of Taynton” by Katie and Walter Thomas, originally published by the Taynton Society.